Sunlight or moonlight?

  • Date: 22 February 2017
  • Place: Sun Moon Lake, Taiwan
  • Accommodation: 24US$ (1 night)
  • Food: 129NT$
  • Transport: Bus (TPE<–>SunMoon Lake): 820NT$

 

 

Day 4. Day 3 in Taiwan.

This morning after waking up but rolling on bed for a few hours I decided to do something productive with my life (for a change). It was then that I remembered that Minwen told me a place called Sun Moon Lake. With no plans and so on I decided that that would be my stop today.

When I got to Taipei Bus Terminal it was already noon, I bought my bus ticket and there I was, on the way to one of the biggest lakes in Taiwan if not the most.

The bus ride was quite long (270km in 5h) and maybe the most terrorific one I ever had… (my dad’s driving is not that good, you know…)😖
The bus driver would ride with the door open, no seat belts, sudden stops on the middle of the street to buy himself some food, high speed on country roads, at some point I did ask myself “How did I even got here? And why?!”

Around 5h  something after with fear…I got to the lake. Safe and sound.

I got there after 7pm and I still had to find a place to sleep…Lucky me I found a hostel called Yué Lake Hostel that still had some beds left at the female dormitory, I slept there.


I did not do much more after that, I went for a night walk to the nearest temple (Long Feng Temple), took some photos, walked around for a little bit and went to sleep.
The night view from that small temple was beautiful and it’s illumination too… If you ever go to the Sun Moon Lake I recommend spending the night and even a couple of days to relax.

Leave a comment